Australian Academy of Science--澳大利亚科学院




  The Academy was founded on 16 February 1954 by Australian Fellows of the Royal Society of London with the distinguished physicist Sir Mark Oliphant as founding President. It was granted a Royal Charter establishing the Academy as an independent body but with government endorsement.

  The Academy's Constitution was modeled on that of the Royal Society of London. It receives government grants towards its activities but has no statutory obligation to government.

  The Academy's objectives

  The objectives of the Academy are to promote science through a range of activities. It has defined four major program areas:

  * recognition of outstanding contributions to science

  * education and public awareness

  * science policy

  * international relations